Freaky Friday

Freaky FridayFreaky Friday by Mary Rodgers
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Wow, um, not that this book isn’t entertaining, but boy, does it show its age. The views of the roles of husbands and wives is so different now. Talking about how much money the wife is spending and her having to justify when she buys something for the kids, the daughter feeling bad for her dad because his clothes need to be cleaned, it’s all just so trippy in my mind. I know that’s not really a good description, but that’s all I’ve got. I was fully in the mom’s corner the whole time.

I usually don’t recommend watching a movie instead of reading a book, but I’m not sure most kids would understand the family dynamic presented because of the difference in times. The premise of the story is still good, there is a reason it has been made into movies multiple times, society has just changed too much for some of the books elements to be understood by kids.

Author: Mary Rodgers
Publisher: Harper Trophy Book/ Harper & Row Publishers
Publication Date: April 12th 1972

View all my reviews

Leave a comment